## Latvia - new territorial reform 2021

The Law on Administrative Territories and Populated Areas envisages the reduction of municipalities with the establishment of 42 local governments in Latvia from July 2021 onwards. Before this reform, there were 119 administrative territories in the country.

Prior to the previous territorial reform in 2009, there were 26 district municipalities and 527 local governments in Latvia

- The municipal reform is intended to create economically viable administrative territories with municipalities that are able to ensure the fulfilment of their statutory autonomous functions in comparable quality and accessibility and provide quality services to the population at reasonable costs
- In future Latvia will be divided into so-called "state cities" and local governments. The status of a state city has been determined for Daugavpils, Jelgava, Jēkabpils, Jūrmala, Liepāja, Ogre, Rēzekne, Rīga, Valmiera and Ventspils

